Happyness are a 3 piece band from South London, formed of multi-instrumentalists Ash Cooper, Benji Compston and Jonny Allan.

After forming in early 1973, the band went on hiatus pending their births and the sufficient progress of the affordable digital audio interface market. Regrouping in 2013, the band spent Saturday nights playing under a railway bridge in Bermondsey. By mid-2013, having written "most of an album" they rented out an unused church with the intention of setting up a studio and finishing the record there. That ended after less than a week with only one song tracked – they were driven out by "the bitter cold and an unconvinced congregation of the dead".

Before the recording sessions, the band had played a handful of shows under a variety of names ("something to put on the flyers"), but the name Happyness wasn't used until November 2013, when the band started playing live in the build up to the release of their eponymous EP – mixed by Ed Harcourt.

Silent Old Mtns. began in the Spring of 2011, when a one-off concert snowballed into a full time regional act. Their blend of Indie Rock, Folk, and Poetry create a style all their own that earned them a quick and loyal following.

Silent Old Mtns. released their debut record, Velvet Raccoon, June 19th, 2012. At the release of Velvet Raccoon, the band began touring Nationally in a repurposed short school bus. The band averaged 100 performances a year from 2011-2013.

In October 2013, the band decided to take a hiatus, which lasted until July 11, 2015. They released their first track since 2012 in October 2015, titled Trenches. Since the release of Trenches, the band has been focusing on writing new material for a sophomore release coming in the not-so-distant future.



Who’s Going


Upcoming Events
DC9 Nightclub